Relife – Thoughts and Second Thoughts

Recently like 2 weeks ago, I watched Relife at a stretch, and it’s been a while since I was involved into any anime that much, but still it was quite unsatisfactory to me, hear me out. This review does not go too much into the story, so no spoilers.

I think I did improve when compared to my other works

Arata, a 27-year old is given a second chance at life, even when he was abandoned by those around him. He is chosen as a test subject for Relife program and made to attend a high school, where he will relive his high school days and tries to change himself and how does he affect the people around him? The outline seemed pretty interesting and I immediately added it to my watchlist.

CHARACTERS: 

KAIZAKI ARATA: 

The main character of the story, who has a past trauma in his work and quitted his job. Has trouble making a decent living. He was chosen as a test subject for the relife project, so that he could change his life and actually get a decent work. His character is easy to understand and made in a way that the viewers can easily sympathize with. Nothing special about him nor does he have any weird ideas about life.

From ep1, there’s entertainment where Arata is involved

HISHIRO SHIZURU: 

Her character to me (since I have seen both the animes which are mentioned a little further) seemed like a mash-up between Sawako (Kimi Ni Todoke) and Mashiro (The Pet Girl of Sakurasou), well that should have made a unique character, but it failed in creating a new character to me. It was like I was rapily seeing change in characters, like a dual personality. She was so hopeless like Mashiro in making friends or understanding people’s thoughts, but always tries her best to do so. I really think these characters are No longer Human (book by Osamu Dazai). And when comparing to Sawako, do I need to spell it out, just look at the picture below.

 

Failed to humor me since I have seen this elsewhere 

But if you haven’t seen kimi ni todoke it might not be that bad of an entertainment. Actually it will be refreshing if you see this characterization for the first time.

Other: 

Ok if I have to talk about other characters there is only one who makes frequent apperance, maybe she had screen time as much as our MC. Kariu Rena an ordinary high school girl. As the series progresses there would be a lot in character developments, and Hey this relife project was intended to develop the Arata’s character to the better side. But the one whose character development was most clearly visible and the one who changed a lot, if I have to put it even more clearly the one who connects the entire crew in Relife will be Rena. So there’s actually enjoyable stuff in Relife.

Most interesting character in the series to me

Thoughts: 

My first impressions on the series after finishing it was that it had hope. It’s actually a nice concept of giving working adult an another chance at their high school. The series was trying to experiment how an adult influence would be on his surroundings and how much it might change his life too. Most teenagers now-a-days don’t listen much to working adults, but what if they never knew they were listening to a working adult? How much would their advice, given by their experience in life can change the younger generation? And how much will it change their own life? Actually I think this is what the series was trying to say. But it was rather said very vaguely that I wonder if most people would get it. So my initial impressions were good for the story and attempt.

And as an addition, let me say this, there’s a heart plunging moment in the anime. If you are like me, who cries when it becomes sad or when when you hear a melody which makes you sad, then the ending in one of the episodes include Yuki No Hana song, one of my favorite songs, which makes me feel lonely, it’s a good one.

Wait, just read my second thoughts before leaving.
SECOND THOUGHTS: 

Thinking again over a period of time, the series does not really attain it’s goal, or atleast what I think it’s goals are. The seties does make visible change in the character traits. But, if I were to replace Arata’s past trauma in work as a trauma he had suffered in his part-time job during his first year of high school and completely consider the support as his childhood friend, the series might not have changed drastically . What I am trying to say here is, there was no drastic effect in high school life due to an working adult being a part of their life. It just seems like a show for entertainment. And yeah it does entertain.

Coming to romance, it pretty much was obvious when it comes to pairing and what was not obvious was that it was not a painful, forbidden love story, but just an plain love story you can find everywhere, since there seems to be a solution for them to join hands (keep guessing that solution /way until you actually watch it, in the final episode). And hence, the story actually does not stand out pretty much in romance and it does not prove it’s goal (Or at least what I think it’s goal was).

Teaching how to smile, maybe?

If I were to give a colour to Relife, it woukd be Gray, it felt familiar but at the same time refreshing and never bored me.

Did I enjoy the show: I did enjoy it, and if I haven’t seen the aforementioned animes I would have enjoyed it even more

Do I want a second season? If so how soon?: Not really, if it comes out I won’t actually watch it without reading reviews like I did for this one.

Why I don’t want a second season?: Guessing from how the series is going right now, it does seem like it will be something similar to Kimi Ni todoke S2, since it’s only a matter of time before the characters realise their feelings and give into them.

Finally, if you are expecting an over-the-top forbidden love story, painful and something really different, this is not for you. But if you like watching animes where people overcome their mistakes, realise their desires, character developments and painful moments this might be pleasing and it’s well done.

So I just wanted to write a post with 1139-words. So if you guys read it, Thanks for reading!!! I really appreciate it!! Hope to see you guys soon. Leave your views on the comments. Cheerio!

20 thoughts on “Relife – Thoughts and Second Thoughts

  1. raistlin0903 says:

    Great post. I haven’t seen this one (which coming from me isn’t a big surprise, as I am playing catch up to almost every anime series out there lol), but I like the concept of this one. I am probably going to watch it somewhere next year. 😀 Enjoyed reading this one 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. weekendotaku says:

    I see mixed reviews for this one, some people who love it, some who think it’s pretty mediocre, and some who confuse it with Rewrite. From that perspective, I think assigning it a color of gray is accurate 😛

    A lot of other shows have teenagers making mistakes and learning from them without an “adult” present. Hearing the premise it sounds like the American film “17 again”, where Matthew Perry becomes Zac Efron after some kind of accident (I didn’t watch it)

    Great review, though. I got a good sense of the characters from the comparisons you made. I’m not sure that this show seems very interesting to me, even if I am a sap for sad songs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • demigod365 says:

      Thanks for reading! After watching the show I did look at the some mixed reviews, to know if I was the only one who felt that way, but I can assure it it’s nothing like Rewrite, except for the somewhat similarity in the name lol.
      I haven’t seen the film, I will check out whether it’s my type or not 😂
      Relife does not have a lot of sad parts and it’s not entirely focused on emotional areas, as I said I was expecting a painful story, but didn’t turn out that way and the Yuki no Hana song was adapted only for that particular episode with a sad scene. 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rose says:

    Nice drawing!!! I’m reading it now and I’ve almost caught up. I haven’t watched the show though. I do really, really like the manga a lot. I felt like I could relate to it in many ways and I saw myself in a couple of the characters.

    Like

      • Rose says:

        Not Rena! The two main characters, actually. Chizuru Hishiro and Arata Kaizaki. I could relate to Arata because my friend also died by suicide…

        I could relate to Hishiro because I used to kind of have her personality when I was very young. I experienced loneliness and I did move schools a lot too. I was focused on school and was not the most friendly person. I changed a lot in high school and now I have lots of friends. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • demigod365 says:

        Oh I had no idea that you had a bad experience. Having a friend die on you hurts. I have come across that too. But not a suicide, so I can hardly imagine how painful that might have felt. Hope everything is going well now, truly.
        I could have never guessed you might be relatable to Hishiro, I think you have changed a lot now. And continue to cherish the present 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      • Rose says:

        Thanks so much for your kind words. It was over a year ago so I’ve healed. It was a rough time for sure though.

        Yeah, Hishiro! Once I started high school, I got friends and things were great!!! 😀 Thanks~

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

